Organization activities

Former members of Cleveland organization get World Series rings with Astros

The 2022 MLB season is officially over, and what a season it has been! On Saturday night, the Houston Astors defeated the Philadelphia Phillies in six games to be the World Series champions.

With the Astros winning it all, there are a few former members of the Cleveland organization who will be receiving championship rings. This is Michael Brantley and Phil Maton.

Brantley is definitely the most notable name to get a ring as he was with Cleveland for a long time when they were officially known as Indians. Brantley was in Cleveland for 10 years and in that time became one of the best contact hitters in the game and was an All-Star in three seasons.

In those 10 years, he had a .295 batting average, .781 OPS and over 500 RBIs. He did all of this in over 1000 games played.

As good as Brantley was with Cleveland, he also struggled to stay healthy near the end of his tenure.

In 2016 he only played 11 games and in 2017 he played 90. Still, he was one of the best outfielders Cleveland had and they’ve struggled trying to fill the Brantley void ever since. left for free agency after the 2018 season.

However, it looks like they finally found the right guy with Steven Kwan.

Phil Maton is the other Cleveland alum to get a ring. He hasn’t been in Cleveland as long as Brantley. Maton has been out of the bullpen for two and a half seasons and had a strong arm when he was here.

He was pretty solid in his first season with Cleveland posting a 2.92 ERA. But the following season and a half, he had an ERA in four.

Maton was notably one of the key trade plays used to acquire outfielder Myles Straw from the Astros at the 2021 trade deadline.

Catch the prospect Yainer Diaz was also in that deal which is still with the Astros organization.

Scroll to continue

It’s hard to see old fan-favorites earning Rings on opposing teams, but hopefully soon we’ll see a team full of Guardians fan-favorites earning it all!


Read more:

Steven Kwan thanks Guardians coaches and veterans for his first Gold Glove award

Myles Straw reflects on goalkeeping defense after winning Golden Glove award

This Day in Cleveland History: Rajai Davis 2016 World Series Game Seven Home Run

Why Steven Kwan’s Golden Glove Is Special To The Guardians Franchise

Guardians sets franchise record with four Golden Glove winners


Be sure to stay locked in Cleveland Baseball Insider the whole time!

SUBSCRIBE to the CBI YouTube channel
Follow Cleveland Baseball Insider on Twitter: @CBI_FanNation